When evangelicals support Phil Robertson

9781595544407_p0_v2_s260x420

Today, I had the honor of sharing my perspective on the “Duck Dynasty Drama” in a roundtable discussion on Rachel Held Evans blog. I’m truly humbled to share space with voices like, Britteny Cooper, Benjamin Moberg, and  Tamára Lunardo.    

Their words have made me a wiser and more compassionate Shalom Sistah.

Read more here on Rachel’s blog.

For more thoughts on racial reconciliation and peacemaking here are my favorite posts here on “Shalom in the City”:

For the days I don’t feel black enough

Sometimes, I wish I were white

Oh Honey, come here!  I think your privilege is showing.

A Scary Invitation

Affection is not necessarily reconciliation

And some thoughts on the urban/suburban divide

An Open Letter to my sisters in the suburbs

Tomorrow I’ll share my resources for my OneWord365: Taste.

Seeking His Peace,

signature

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “When evangelicals support Phil Robertson

  1. Thank you for sharing your perspective on the RHE post. You did a wonderful job with speaking the truth in love – prophetically. Your perspective on how actions and words can and do hurt others is powerful and needs to be heard by so many of us who are privileged in ways we too often don’t recognize or acknowledge. Keep on preaching!

  2. Thank you, Osheta, for staying with it, this lengthy process of reconciliation. As a white girl whose privilege slip shows now and then, I am so grateful for your willingness to hang in there and let me know, so to speak. And to share what your vision of Shalom would look like. Blessings to you today.

What do you think?